How to Apply for a Texas Driver License as a Teen | Department of Public Safety

You may use our interactional REAL ID Document Check Application to assist in preparing you for your Driver License Office Visit. Just follow the steps, and at the conclusion, you will have a customize checklist of the documents to bring for your visit .
This foliate will provide you, as a adolescent, with information on :

  • Applying for your first driver license
  • Transferring your out-of-state driver license to Texas
  • Applying for your motorcycle license

One of the more crucial decisions you and your parents or legal defender can make is deciding when you should apply for your first base driver license. There are many laws specific to adolescent drivers that you are required to follow when applying for and holding a driver license. These laws are designed to educate you about the rules of the road and ensure you practice safe driving habits before being allowed to graduate to the following footfall. These calibrated steps provide you the find to improve your driving skills over clock in lower-risk environments .
If you are under 18 years of age, one of the first requirements is completion of a driver education naturally. You can begin the classroom phase of a driver department of education course at 14 years of old age, but you can not apply for a learner license until you are at least 15 years of age. There are four types of driver education to select from when taking this course :

  1. A traditional driver education course offered by a certified driver training school
  2. An online driver education course offered by a certified driver training school
  3. Parent-taught driver education (PTDE)
  4. Driver education offered in public school

To select one of the options and get started on your driver education class, visit Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation ( TDLR ) Driver Education and Safety for more information .

Driver Licensing

There are two phases of licensing for all teens before graduating to a wax driver license. This is called the Graduated Driver License Program .

Phase I – Learner License
  • This entry-level restricted driver license allows you to practice driving with a licensed adult before you graduate to the next level.
  • You must be between 15 and 17 years of age.
  • You must have completed the first six hours of the driver education classroom instruction if you are using the concurrent method or all 32 hours of classroom instruction if you are using the block method.
  • You must provide evidence that you:
    • Obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent; or
    • Are a student enrolled in a public, private, or home school and attended school for at least 90% of the time in the fall or spring semester preceding the date of application; or
    • Are currently enrolled in a program to prepare you to pass the high school equivalency exam. You must have been enrolled for the previous 45 days from the date of applying for your learner license; or
    • If you are applying during the summer and are still enrolled in school, your last report card for the most recent school year is acceptable provided it has your name, a list of absences, and a complete listing of grades.
  • You must have a licensed adult 21 years or older in the front passenger seat when driving.
  • You must hold this license for at least six months, unless you turn 18.
  • You are restricted from using a wireless communications device, including a hands-free device, except in the case of an emergency.
  • If your license is suspended at any time while you hold a learner license, the initial six-month period increases by the number of days of the suspension.  This is to make sure you hold a valid learner license for a full six-months.
  • Your learner license will expire on your 18th birthday.

Applying for your Learner License
You must visit a driver license office and provide proof of the following to obtain a learner license .
*If you do not own a vehicle, you will sign a argument affirming this .

once you have gathered the necessary documents and completed the ask courses, you will need to do the following :

  1. Complete the driver license application before arriving at your local office. (This form is also available at all driver license offices)
  2. Make an appointment at a driver license office. Bring a parent or legal guardian (If you are bringing a Legal Guardian, you must also bring a certified court order demonstrating guardianship).
  3. Provide the following documentation to the license and permit specialist:
    1. Application for the issuance of a driver license.
    2. U.S. Citizenship or, if you are not a U.S. Citizen, evidence of lawful presence
    3. Texas Residency
    4. Proof of Identity
    5. Social Security Number
    6. Proof of Texas Vehicle Registration
    7. Proof of Vehicle Insurance* (see above)
    8. Texas Driver Education Certificate (DE-964 or DE-964E)
    9. Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE form) issued by a school, or a high school diploma or equivalent (GED).
      • VOE requires a signature (a stamped or computer generated signature of a school official is acceptable, and
      • Is valid for 30 days from issuance, or
      • Is valid for 90 days from issuance between the months of June through August, or
      • A current report card for the most recent school year (see Phase I information above)
    10. Evidence of successfully passing the driver knowledge exam. (If you have not taken this test during the classroom portion of driver education, you will take it at the driver license office).
  4. Provide your signature.
  5. Provide your thumbprints.
  6. Have your picture taken.
  7. Pay the application fee.
  8. Pass Vision Exam.

You may complete the test requirements at the DL function or through a Third Party supplier. Read about testing in other languages and driving test requirements .
once your learner license has been issued, you will receive a temp driver license. Before leaving the driver license office, review the print information on your temp driver license for accuracy. If any of the information is faulty, notify the License and Permit Specialist. Your raw poster will arrive in the mail in approximately 2 – 3 weeks. To check the mailing status of your batting order, visit our mailing condition web page .
note : If you hold an designation batting order, you are not eligible to apply for a learner license unless you surrender your identification calling card at the time of application .

Phase II – Provisional Driver License
  • You must have held your valid learner license for at least six-months, unless you have reached 18 years of age
  • You must be between 16 and 17 years of age
  • You must have completed behind-the-wheel portion of driver education, which includes:
    • 7 hours of in car observation sitting beside the instructor, watching the instructor demonstrate certain points of instruction
    • 7 hours of in car observation driving and demonstrating to the instructor that you have learned the points of instruction
    • 30 hours of behind the wheel driving practice, of which at least 10 hours must be at night with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older in the vehicle at all times
  • You must have completed the Impact Texas Teen Driver Program within the previous 90 days of taking your skills test
  • You must successfully pass your driving test
  • Expires on your 18th birthday
  • You may not drive a motor vehicle with more than one passenger in the vehicle under 21 who is not a family member
  • You may not drive a motor vehicle between midnight and 5:00 a.m., unless the operation of the vehicle is necessary for the driver to work, to attend or participate in a school-related activity, or due to a medical emergency
  • You are restricted from using a wireless communications device, including a hands-free device, except in the case of an emergency
  • This driver license will expire when you turn 18.  You will need to visit your local driver license office within 30 days of it expiring to renew it.  You will then be issued a driver license for individuals under 21 years of age. 

Applying for your Provisional Driver License
When you are ready to apply for a probationary driver license and have completed all the apprentice license requirements, you will need to visit a driver license office and provide extra software documentation.

  1. Complete the driver license application before arriving for your appointment. (This form is also available at all driver license offices)
  2. Bring a parent or legal guardian or bring the notarized application signed by the parent or guardian and visit your local driver license
    office. Visit Driver License Services – Appointments to make an appointment at a driver license office. 
  3. Provide the following documentation to the License and Permit Specialist:
    1. Application for the issuance of a driver license.
    2. Evidence of lawful presence, if you are not a U.S. Citizen
    3. Proof of Identity
    4. Texas Driver Education Certificate of Completion (DE-964 or DE-964E)
    5. Evidence of successfully passing the driving test (if you took the driving test at a driver training school, the results must be provided by the school in a sealed envelope and provided to DPS at the time you are applying for your license)
    6. Impact Texas Driver Program Certificate of Completion
  4. Provide your signature.
  5. Provide your thumbprints.
  6. Have your picture taken.
  7. Pay the application fee.
  8. Pass Vision Exam.
  9. Provide proof of Vehicle Insurance (if you will be taking the driving skills test)

You may complete the drive test requirements at the DL agency or through a Third Party provider. Read about testing in other languages and driving test requirements. If you will be taking your driving examination at a local anesthetic driver license office, you will be required to :

  • Schedule an appointment online, and
  • Present proof of current registration and insurance for the vehicle you will be testing in at the time of the driving test. 

once your driver license has been issued, you will receive a temp driver license. Before leaving the driver license position, review the print information on your temp driver license for accuracy. If any of the information is wrong, notify the License and Permit Specialist. Your fresh card will arrive in the mail in approximately 2 – 3 weeks. To check the mail condition of your menu, visit our mailing status web page .
You are eligible to renew your driver license up to 30 days prior to the passing date, which will occur on your 18th birthday. You are eligible to renew on-line by visiting hypertext transfer protocol : //epicentreconcerts.org/driver. The cost is the same as renewing at a driver license office. If you choose to renew in person before you turn 18, you will need to be accompanied by a rear or legal defender. If you renew in person after your 18th birthday, you will no retentive need to be accompanied by a parent or legal defender ; however, you must make alternate transportation arrangements to visit your local driver license office, as it is a violation of department of state law to operate a motor vehicle with an expired driver license .

Motorcycle License

For information on how to obtain a Class M license, see Motorcycle Licenses .

Transferring/Presenting an out-of-state driver license

If you are under the age of 18 and transferring your out-of-state apprentice permit or probationary driver license to Texas, the follow may apply to you :
Learner license without proof of driver education
If you are transferring/presenting a valid out-of-state learner license and are not able to provide proof of successfully completing a adolescent driver education path, you will be issued a Texas apprentice license. The Texas apprentice license must be held for 6 months or until the age of 18, whichever comes first, careless of how retentive you held a learner license in another express. You will be required to complete a Texas driver education run, the Impact Texas Drivers ( ITD ) program, and the drive test before being issued a probationary driver license .
Learner license with proof of driver education
If you are between 16 – 17 years of long time and are transferring/presenting a valid out-of-state apprentice license that you have held for at least six months, and portray proof of successful completion of a adolescent driver education class, you will be required to complete the Impact Texas Drivers ( ITD ) plan, provide confirmation of school registration and attendance, and successfully pass the drive test before being issued a probationary driver license .
If you are between 16 – 17 years of historic period and are transferring/presenting a probationary driver license, you will be issued a Texas probationary driver license .
All applicants under 18 must take the skills examination even if they hold a valid driver license from another department of state or country .

Hardship License

A minor ‘s restricted driver license ( MRDL ), besides known as a adversity license, may be issued under certain instances where it has been established that there is a necessity to drive and the applicant is under 16 years of age. A asperity license applicant must complete all of the regular license requirements listed above, with the exception of holding a learner license for a minimum of six months, and must be at least 15 years of age. A asperity license expires on the applicant ‘s next birthday .
For more information and to review the types of hardships that qualify for a hardship license, please review the adversity license application .

Tobacco Awareness

Individuals under 18 years of age who are convicted of self-control, purchase, consumption or reception of cigarettes or tobacco products must attend a tobacco awareness plan approved by the Texas Department of State Health Services. failure to complete the plan within 90 days could result in the suspension of the individual ‘s driver license ( or driving privilege if not licensed ).

Alcohol Awareness

Texas enacted laws to discourage drivers from drink and repel to make Texas roads safer. These laws include a Zero Tolerance for minors ( under 21 years of historic period ) who commit any alcohol related offenses. Zero tolerance means that a minor may not purchase, attempt to purchase, consume, or possess an alcoholic beverage. If any detectable total of alcohol is in their system while operating a centrifugal vehicle, including a vessel, in a public set, it is a criminal crime of Driving under the Influence of Alcohol by a Minor ( DUIA by a Minor ). For more detail information, download and review our Alcohol Related Laws for Minors booklet .
For more information on enforcement actions, please visit the web pages listed under Suspensions & Reinstatement .
For all available collision reports and summaries related to adolescent drivers, please visit the Collision Report and Summary page .

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.